London Ultra Low Emissions Zone extension

General MGB discussion
Allan T
Forename: Allan
Surname: Titmuss
MGCC Member: Yes

London Ultra Low Emissions Zone extension

Post by Allan T »

On 25 October the London ULEZ will be extended to within the north and south circulars, and I'll have to interact with the system, which I've never done before. TFL has confirmed they recognise my 1978 MGB as a Vehicle of Historic Interest and therefor free of ULEZ charges. But they've failed to answer my questions about how it'll actually work. Will their system automatically recognise the VOHI status, and I'll not need to do anything? Or will I have to attempt to pay each day I drive, and make a zero payment, similar to taxing free of charge with DVLA? Or can I set-up an Auto Pay Account, which will take zero payments automatically? It would be hard to be free of the £12.50 daily charge, but collecting hundreds of pounds in penalty charges for not attempting to pay the zero-pounds owed. I've just tried to set-up an Auto Pay Account, and the TFL system wouldn't let me after I'd entered my vehicle details.

My first response from TFL was plain wrong, and since they can't have a great many VOHIs to deal with, I guess it'll be hit-or-miss finding someone there who actually knows the answers.

Any experiences and insights gratefully received!
Allan T

Re: London Ultra Low Emissions Zone extension

Post by Allan T »

This back from tfl:

'Please be advised that your vehicle is exempt from paying the ULEZ charge because of its taxation class being a 'Historic Vehicle' and not because it meets emission standards for ULEZ. As this is the case the ULEZ checker will flag it up as a payable vehicle, however when you attempt to pay the charge for the vehicle you will not be able to do so.'