Rebuilt Engine Burning Oil

Technical MGB discussion
nika72
Forename: Nik
Surname: Allan
MGCC Member: Yes

Rebuilt Engine Burning Oil

Post by nika72 »

Hi Im a newbie on here after buying my MGB GT about a year ago. Engine was shot so had it rebuilt and its still burning oil, mostly at high revs and when on overrun....especially on overun which makes me think its breathing issue? Took it back and they said rings were faulty and fitted new ones. Still burning oil.

Block has been bored and skimmed along with head. 270 Cam fitted along with high compression pistons with rings etc. Even fitted a catch tank and original oil filler cap. Still has oil burning issue. Any advice on what to check? Only getting about 90 miles between Max and Min on oil dipstick.

Any and all advice appreciated.

Thanks,

Nik
Ian F
Forename: Ian
Surname: F

Re: Rebuilt Engine Burning Oil

Post by Ian F »

Difficult to diagnose remotely, sounds like it could be rings. Be aware that rings may take a while to bed in, and may burn oil initially. Putting new rings in is quite a lengthy and expensive job - did they charge you for doing it?
Was it a reputable engine builder, as some may do a poor job.
Finally, I once fitted a catch tank to a TR2 engine and it interfered with the engine breathing quite a lot, so I always disconnected it when on public roads
Ian F
MGCC member
1972 BGT, Blaze, Navy trim, recessed grill
1961 Midget, 948cc, Clipper Blue, Blue trim and weather gear
Bumpa
Forename: Mike
Surname: Howlett

Post by Bumpa »

90 miles between max and min! Are you followed by a blue cloud? If you are burning that much oil, is it coming out of the exhaust pipe as blueish smoke? Get someone to follow you and watch your tail pipe. It could be piston rings or through the valve guides. Are valve seals fitted, at least on the inlet valves? Are the valves a good close fit in the guides?