Head Removed - How do I clean coolant passages in block?

Technical MGB discussion
halfbob
Forename: Steve
Surname: Tanner

Head Removed - How do I clean coolant passages in block?

Post by halfbob »

Good morning,

Finally got into the engine bay of my 77 Roadster and been busy removing items in preparation for lifting Engine out. Decided to take the Head off whilst Engine still in situ so I could get it's 3rd party refurbishment underway and take a look at the state of things inside (the car has sat under a tarp for 30 years).

I'm new to all this and it's my first ever Head removal but friend's who are "in the know" say I shouldn't be too alarmed at the black deposits on top of the pistons and inside the Combustion Chambers. The Bores are clean and not scored and the Head Gasket seemed to have done it's job with integrity. However, I am concerned at the "rusty limescale" type deposits in many of the visible coolant passages. When I removed the Radiator there was a fair amount of coolant that came out and from the lack of colour or smell I suspect it was plain tap water, which is notoriously "hard" in our area. The "spigot" on the Thermostat Housing for the Top Hose had completely disintegrated.

Is there anything recommended that I can pour in and leave to dissolve any of these deposits? I've trawled the Internet and seen recommendations ranging from Vinegar to Calgon. Any advice much appreciated.

Thanks
Ian F
Forename: Ian
Surname: F
MGCC Member: Yes

Re: Head Removed - How do I clean coolant passages in block?

Post by Ian F »

I think this depends on how bad this is. B series engine blocks are renowned for getting blocked with rusty deposits even if you have conscientiously used antifreeze. The rearmost drain hole is frequently blocked and no amount of poking with wire will unblock it.
My engine is blocked in that area, but all I have ever done is backflush with a hosepipe as best I can. Seems to be cooled adequately.